Double Feature is nigh! 3/19/13 is the magic day. The book has been edited, re-edited, and fire-hardened in the pitiless forges beneath Scribner Publishing. The blurbs and the advanced reviews are in. Tasteful offerings have been made to an assortment of deities. I have a good supply of Tums.

Below is a schedule of the bookstores I’ll be visiting in March and April. It would be my great pleasure to read to you! Please check back for additional events. If you would like to follow me on Twitter or “like” me The Facebook, I wouldn’t mind that in the slightest! If you are interested in bringing me to your local bookstore or your book club, or interviewing me for your publication, or sharing your salsa recipe with me, please feel free to drop a line at either place.

3/19 – Book Release Party/Reading/Signing/Seance at the Community Bookstore with Teddy Wayne (author of The Love Song of Jonny Valentine), Brooklyn, NY – 7pm
3/26 – Reading/Signing at Newtonville Books with Amity Gaige (author of Schroder and The Folded World), Newton, MA – 7pm
3/27 Reading/Signing at RiverRun Bookstore, Portsmouth, NH – 7pm
3/28 Reading/Signing at Longfellow Books, Portland, ME – 7pm
4/5 – Reading/Signing at Inquiring Minds Bookstore, New Paltz, NY – 7pm
4/24 – Reading/Signing at Vroman’s, Pasadena, CA – 7pm
4/27 – Reading/Signing at Oblong Books, Rhinebeck, NY – 7pm

If you can’t make it to an event, but would still like me to scratch something in a book for you, I’m pretty sure that most, if not all, of the stores listed above would be glad to take a pre-order for personalization and shipping. I definitely know this to be the case at the RiverRun Bookstore (call them at 603-431-2100), at Inquiring Minds (call them at 845-255-8300), and at Oblong Books, which provides a handy online option right here on their special page for signed books.

Here’s a synopsis of Double Feature:

“An epic debut novel about a young man coming to terms with his life in the process and aftermath of making his first film—from critically acclaimed short story writer Owen King—for readers of Joshua Ferris, Sam Lipsyte, and Chad Harbach.

Filmmaker Sam Dolan has a difficult relationship with his father, B-movie actor Booth Dolan—a boisterous, opinionated, lying lothario whose screen legacy falls somewhere between cult hero and pathetic. Allie, Sam’s dearly departed mother, was a woman whose only fault, in Sam’s eyes, was her eternal affection for his father. Also included in the cast of indelible characters: a precocious, frequently violent half-sister; a conspiracy-theorist second wife; an Internet-famous roommate; a family friend and contractor who can’t stop expanding his house; a happy-go-lucky college girlfriend and her husband, a retired Yankees catcher; the morose producer of a true crime show; and a slouching indie film legend. Not to mention a tragic sex monster.

Unraveling the tumultuous, decades-spanning story of the Dolan family’s friends, lovers, and adversaries, Double Feature is about letting go of everything—regret, resentment, ambition, dignity, moving pictures, the dead—and taking it again from the top. Combining propulsive storytelling and mordant wit against the backdrop of indie filmmaking, Double Feature brims with a deep understanding of the trials of ambition and art, of relationships and life, and of our attempts to survive it all.”

And here are what a few incredibly kind writers and reviewers have said about it:

“Double Feature is a beautiful, wrenching beginning, and Owen King is a young writer of immense promise.” – Larry McMurtry

“Superbly imagined lit-fic about family, fathers and film.” – Kirkus

“What a kinetic, joyful, gonzo ride–Double Feature made me laugh so loudly on a plane that I had to describe the plot of Sam’s Spruce Moose of a debut film (it stars a satyr) to my seatmate by way of explanation. Booth and Sam are an unforgettable Oedipal duo. A book that delivers walloping pleasures to its lucky readers.” – Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!

“I didn’t believe the species existed any more: a fun, goodhearted and readable to the point of being addictive epic, contemporary novel. To delve this smoothly into the film world, art, this winningly into the complex mess between sons and fathers, this compassionately into life after a man has taken his shot and is no longer the talented, bright-eyed prodigy… it just doesn’t happen. Owen King is some kind of impressive novelist, and Double Feature is a goddamn unicorn.” — Charles Bock, author of Beautiful Children

“Set in a world of B-movie actors and enthusiasts, King’s first novel, about facing reality and failed aspirations, is irreverent and ambitious. Its sweeping scope covers several generations in a humorous and cynical narrative that bounces between decades. Entertaining and thought-provoking, this captivating look at the ongoing process of becoming an adult will especially appeal to fans of the indie film industry.” – Booklist

“Owen King shows incredible heart, humor and structural mastery in his debut novel. Double Feature, as the title might suggest, has both glorious comic sweep and poignant intimacy.” – Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask

“Owen King has a generous heart and a devious mind; there’s no other possibility that would explain the ways this novel turns from the beautiful and the true right into the bizarre and hilarious. Tackling the act of creation (parents and children, artists and art), King writes with such assurance that the only option for me, once I finished this epic tale, was to start over and hope to experience it anew.” — Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang and Tunneling to the Center of the Earth

“King’s prose is artful, perceptive about people and their ‘warrens of self that go beyond understanding’ – Publisher’s Weekly

“Sharp, hilarious, and irreverent, Double Feature is not only a love-letter to cinema, but also a moving exploration of what it means to be an artist. This novel is brilliant, and Owen King is a magician.” – Lauren Groff, author of The Monsters of Templeton and Arcadia

Owen King’s Double Feature is an ingeniously structured novel about fathers and sons, good art and bad art, success and failure, fight or flight. It manages both to redeem and condemn the overconfidence of youth, and introduces us to a wonderfully, tragically lovable cast of characters. This is terrific book. — Tom Bissell, author of God Lives in St. Petersburg and Magic Hours

“Dear Reader: With this amazing tour de force, Owen King has more than lived up to the great promise of his debut collection. You will fallin love with Booth Dolan (just try not to) even as you’re giving thanks he’s not your father. This is a big, generous American novel from a dazzling novelist I’ll be watching for years.” — Tom Franklin, author of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter